Lactation Cookies/The Best Oatmeal Cookies EVER!

I recently had my third child, a girl! Isn’t she cute? Her brothers love cuddling her.  image

Since I’ve had so much trouble with breastfeeding and had to supplement more than half of the feedings with the last baby I do anything I can to increase my production and if it tastes good so much the better, right? When one of my friends brought me lactation cookies I was intrigued. I’d never heard of such a thing. Did it really work or was it just an excuse to eat cookies? Well, since I’d been craving chocolate chip cookies I didn’t really care. I just ate them. 🙂 But then when they ran out I noticed my little one was more fussy and demanding to eat more frequently. Could they actually be making a difference? I decided to try making a batch and see if that helped. Well, finding a recipe that didn’t taste like cardboard was harder than expected so I asked my friend for her recipe. She shared the link to the ones she made. Then I couldn’t find time to make them. So my sweet husband offered to make them for me. And then because he can’t help it he made adjustments to the recipe and doubled it.

The result is a freezer stocked with several weeks worth of lactation cookies that taste AMAZING! image.jpgAnd theses are good for the whole family. They will be the best oatmeal cookies you ever ate. In case you are curious they really do make a difference in milk production. I’m in the midst of struggling with thrush and have to pump in order to keep feeding her breastmilk. I can pump 1/4 to 1/3 more milk on the days when I have two of these cookies than on the days when I don’t.

Because he loves me and our daughter my husband sets aside time once a month to make up a huge batch of these. Today I took photos of the process and got him to share his adjustments to the recipe so I could share it here.

Start by assembling all the ingredients (This is a double batch, you can cut it in half if you like but we stock our freezer so I have enough for a month.)image (15)

  • 6 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1.5 cups unbleached organic all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups white whole wheat
  • 2/3 cups brewers yeast
  • 1/3 cups ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 cups organic unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup unrefined organic virgin coconut oil
  • 1.5 cups organic cane sugar
  • 1.5 cups special dark brown sugar
  • 2 large egg
  • 2 large egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cups dark chocolate chips/chunks (I like Ghirardelli) – OR use jumbo raisins instead
  • 1.5 cups nuts

Mix the dry ingredients together in one bowl. image (8)

Cream the liquid ingredients.

image (6)

Then add the dry ingredients to the creamed ingredients.

image (13)

Then add the nuts and chocolate or raisins and use an ice cream scoop to scoop batter.I scoop it directly onto a shelf in my freezer covered in wax paper. Then after about an hour I can put them into a freezer bag. When I want to make them I take two-four cookies out of the oven, place them on a baking sheet and when they soften up (after about 10 minutes) I flatten them and bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Nice warm cookies….
IMG_1678.jpg

Milk anyone?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

