Making a Crib Sheet

With little boy number two’s arrival just around the corner I am trying as hard as I can to make sure that everything is ready. In one week I reorganized our storage rack, went through all of the filling and paperwork for the first half of the year. Cleaned off the dresser that accumulates all the “clutter” from the rest of the house when someone doesn’t know where to put an item away (or is just too lazy) Reorganized  the master closet, and the nursery closet, Washed and organized all the baby clothes and diapers according to size, emptied the guest shower that had been being used as a storage closet (have to have that available when Grandma comes! 🙂 ) cleaned out & reorganized our utility closet and cleaned up and organized our sewing project area. Wow, just typing that makes me tired!

With the sewing area cleaned up and organized I was able to focus on some of the other projects I’ve been wanting to tackle. One of those projects was to make several crib sheets. I made due with only one crib sheet until Daniel was 3 months old when his grandma gave me a second one. I remember having to take off the sheet after a nap and rush to wash & dry it again before it was time for the next nap and then repeating it all again after the next nap because inevitable he would scoot just a few inches off the sheet saver and throw up on the clean sheet.  Very frustrating few months.   Even with two sheets I still sometimes am washing sheets several times each week. I really don’t want to continue that way and with two babies in cribs I know I can’t make due with only two sheets. So I thought I’d try to make some.

The average crib sheet I’ve found costs between $10-$15. Through Freecycle I was able to obtain a large collection of fabric for free and several patterns were great for baby boys.  I found some basic instructions online at The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking. The only thing I needed was fold-over elastic. I found on online supplier that was selling it at $0.20 per yard and ordered a bolt of 25 yards. However, when it arrived it wasn’t fold-over elastic but a standard one inch elastic. After multiple communication with the supplier, trying to get them to take back the wrong item and send me the correct one, they finally point blank told me that I wasn’t going to get the correct item from them so just go away. I decided to come up with a way to make the elastic I had work.

wpid-20140810_141956.jpg wpid-20140810_142025.jpg wpid-20140810_142355.jpg wpid-20140810_142411.jpg

 

I started out following Kelly’s basic instructions to lay the fabric out place my crib mattress on it and use that as my guide for measurements. After the first sheet, however, I came up with a better solution.

 

A crib mattress is (at least mine is) 27 inches wide and 51 inches long. The sheet needs an additional 9 inches on all sides. So you need fabric cut to 45-inches wide by 69-inches long. My fabric was already 45-inches wide so I only needed to cut the length. Then measure 9-inches in from each side and the bottom to create a 9-inch square in each corner of the fabric. This was much simpler and more accurate than trying to use the mattress as a physical guide.

wpid-20140810_143611.jpg

Match up the two lines you just drew for the squares in the corner and sew along that line.

wpid-20140810_143632.jpg

Cut off the extra bit of fabric after you’ve sewn that corner and zigzag the cut edge to prevent fraying. Repeat on all four corners.

wpid-20140810_150707.jpg

 

Next stretch out your elastic and match it up to the edge of the fabric and pin it. My hubby came up with this ingenious idea to use two clamps. He clamped one edge of the elastic and the fabric to the edge of my work table and then stretched it out the length of the table and clamped the other edge, them we were able to easily pin the stretched out elastic to the fabric. Continue pinning in sections until you have gone all the way around the sheet.

wpid-20140810_151723.jpg

Pull the elastic and fabric straight and tight as you sew all the way around the edge.

wpid-20140811_103945.jpgwpid-20140811_104024.jpg

To finish fold your elastic over so it is hidden in the fabric. Pin the edges again and sew a “hem” around the edge of the sheet.

wpid-20140811_122120.jpg

Voila! A easy, super cheap crib sheet, all ready for baby!

wpid-20140811_122136.jpg

Daniel declared these sheets “Pree” (pretty) “Nice”, and “Goo” (Good). I love when Mom scores a rave review.

 

Leave a Reply

