Taking Care of Mommy’s Spirit – While Taking Care of the Rest of the Family

Last week I wrote about how difficult I was finding it to take care of myself while I was also trying to take care of the rest of the family. I mentioned a book I have been trying to read called “Taking Care of the Me in Mommy” by Lisa Whelchel. I really love Lisa, I’ve heard her speak several times and always enjoy it. I also love her books and the more I read the more I think she was a mom just like me, trying to be all things to all people and usually putting herself on the back burner in the process.  I finally got a few chapters further into the book and found a few ideas that I have tried to implement.

 

One of the things she suggested was putting scripture memory verses with your daily makeup routine; however, I hardly ever have time for makeup so I didn’t think this would be the best place for my scripture memory. It might only happen once a month! Then she suggested using daily household tasks are reminders to “pray without ceasing”. Her suggestion was laundry, Oh, yeah I do TONS of laundry! So I decided to try that.

Now I’m not very good at remembering to do things without a visual reminder so I typed up a list of reminders and also decided to through so scripture to memorize in there too. Then I cut out the reminders and taped them to various items that I use while doing laundry.

I also made a few to put up when I’m housecleaning, I tried to post them in inconspicuous areas that most people wouldn’t notice but I would know they were there.

Here’s a few.

wpid-20140804_120940.jpg

Prayer reminders taped to bleach & fabric softener

wpid-20140804_121017.jpg

Memory verse & a prayer reminder taped to the top of my washer.

I’ve had these taped up for a few weeks now and last week I had to have my washer serviced. After the gentleman left I saw them again and was glad I had been nice! He was really a sweet guy, after the second trip out I found out that his daughter was a missionary in a closed country and we had a really good chat.

wpid-20140804_121026.jpg

Memory verse taped to laundry soap

wpid-20140804_121136.jpg

Verse & prayer reminders taped to laundry hamper

wpid-20140804_121259.jpg

Prayer reminder taped to inside of refrigerator door

wpid-20140804_121456.jpg

This one was cool, she suggested praying for each person in your family while folding specific items of laundry. I taped the reminders inside my clean laundry hamper.

 

I did lots more, if you want the full list it is available here: Everyday task prayers.  This has really helped. I have to admit I don’t always pray for exactly what the reminder says but it has helped me remember to pray without ceasing & my family is getting bathed in prayer a lot more & my spirit is being revived.

 

I hope this idea helps someone else. I know It has helped me. I can’t wait to continue reading for more ideas on taking care of Mommy.

??????????????????????

On the topic of prayer, I’d like to leave you with a thought that my pastor said recently that has encouraged me to include more Thanksgiving in my prayer life.

“What if you woke up today with only what you had thanked God for yesterday?”

3 thoughts on “Taking Care of Mommy’s Spirit – While Taking Care of the Rest of the Family

  1. I do things like this from time to time. I also have a memory board on my wall that I see right when I make up. It’s mostly full of Bible verses.

    A dear friend came over to my house a few nights ago and showed me a new shower curtain she had bought, at Wal-Mart of all places, that had scripture verses on it. I thought that was really neat!
    (Stopped by from A little R & R linkup!)

  2. Great ideas! No reason to keep them in inconspicuous places. I love when I go to visit friends and see their Bible memory verses in visible spots. I have memory cards from different Bible studies I have done, and I tape them to my mirrors, in my kitchen, or around my computer. I like these ideas, though. They are different from what I have typically done and different is what I need — a shake up from the usual. Plus, like you, I do TONS of laundry! (And I’m not always very happy about it!)

Leave a Reply

