Dad’s Favorite Plain, No-Frills Granola (FodMap)

 

Last week I told you about the yummy Chocolate Nut Granola that I made for myself. I’ve enjoyed it so much that my hubby asked if I could make one for him. He is very picky on his cereals and likes them, very plain, none of the extra yummy stuff I like in mine, like nuts, coconut or chocolate! Also, since he is on FodMap we have to watch out for all kinds of ingredients, like gluten, fruits, sweeteners, etc. He showed me a box at our local organic store that he likes for $6.20 for 17 ounces! No way were we paying that kind of money for a box of cereal!(Remember my no more than $2 a box rule). So once again I checked the ingredients on the back of the box, bough on item that I didn’t already have at home and began experimenting.

So here was the final recipe.

Dad’s Favorite Plain, No-Frills Granola

3 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

3 1/2 cups Puffed Rice

wpid-20140716_103314.jpg

 

Slightly different texture than Rice Krispies, more air, less crisp. This was my one ingredient I didn’t have that he wanted to try instead of Rice Krispies.

 

 

 

 

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup molasses

1/2 cup honey

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1 tablespoon Vanilla

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

In a large measuring cup whisk together the wet ingredients.

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, stirring as you go. (I love my kitchen Aid with the paddle attachment for this) Continue stirring until everything is coated with the syrup mix.

Spread the granola over 2 large baking sheets. (Cleanup is much easier if you line them with parchment first!)

Bake at 250  for 2 hours, stirring after 1 hour. Remove from oven, stir again to keep from solidifying into on large mass and then allow to cool completely.

wpid-20140716_103143.jpg

Plain, simple, No-Frills but Dad loves it.

 

Cost Comparison

The original cereal  was $6.20 a box for  2 cups.

My recipe makes approx 7 cups for $2.69

To buy 7  cups of the original cereal would amount to $21.70

Homemade results in a savings of $19.01 per recipe and I know exactly what is in it, no unfamiliar or unpronounceable ingredients so I know it is safe for my hubby’s FodMap diet.  If you choose to use generic for all you ingredients (I used local, raw, unfiltered, unpasteurized organic honey) you might find your costs even lower.

page-break

I am so excited to be guest hosting Whatever Wednesday Linky Party this week!  A big thank you to Sarah at Thank You Honey. Click the image below to join the party!

WW-300x450

 

 

One thought on “Dad’s Favorite Plain, No-Frills Granola (FodMap)

Leave a Reply

