Chocolate Nut Granola

I recently discovered a delicious granola at one of my local stores. I discovered it because I found a box on their clearance shelf for less than $2 so I decided to try it and fell in Love! I normally have a really hard time trying to find granola that I like but this was delicious and the perfect texture.  So I decided to get some more. Unfortunately, I discovered the normal price per box was more than $4! Sorry, with an Aldi’s right around the corner and lots of other available breakfast foods I don’t pay more than $2 a box for cereal, no matter how good it is. But it really was so good! And I felt much better about eating granola than the “air” and “sugar” cereals I can normally find. So I decided to do what I’ve done before when I find a product I love but don’t want to pay full price for. I checked the ingredient list on the back of the box & thought, “I can make that”.

So I collected the ingredients listed plus a few more for extra flavor & nutrition and set to work.  Here is what I came up with.

 

Chocolate Nut Granola

4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

4 cups rice cereal (Aldi’s generic for Rice Krispies)

1 cup coconut

1 cup wheat germ

1 cup sliced almonds (you can use any chopped nut you like, the original cereal was hazelnuts but I had almonds on hand so that is what I used.)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup honey

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1 tablespoon vanilla

 

1 bag mini chocolate chips (after cooking)

 

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. (The first time I made this I used a large mixing bowl & mixed it together with my hands. The second time I decided to try a using my Kitchen Aid fitted  with the paddle attachment & it worked fine, and much neater!)

In a large measuring cup (you know the 4 cup Pyrex kind) whisk together the wet ingredients.

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, stirring as you go. Continue siring until everything is coated with the syrup mix.

Spread the granola over 2 large baking sheets. (Cleanup is much easier if you line them with parchment first!)

Bake at 250  for 2 hours, stirring after 1 hour. Remove from oven, stir again to keep from solidifying into on large mass and then allow to cool completely.  Add the mini chips and store in an airtight container at room temperature.

wpid-20140716_103232.jpg

Enjoy a nice bowlful with milk!

 

Cost Comparison

The original cereal I bought was $4 a box for 1.87 cups.

My recipe makes approx 14 cups for $6.97

To buy 14 cups of the original cereal would amount to $29.94

Homemade results in a savings of $22.97 per recipe and I know exactly what is in it, no unfamiliar or unpronounceable ingredients.  If you choose to use generic for all you ingredients (I used 100% real maple and raw, unpasteurized organic honey) you might find your costs even lower.

 

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Nut Granola

  1. Oh, how I love granola! I could be called a granola recipe collector (and eater!). I’ve pinned, and this one will be showing up on our table soon. Thanks so much for sharing (and adding to my collection 🙂 ).

  2. Could you form this into bars? I love granola cereal, but the kids like it in bar form. Would it be possible to make a few bars then the rest for cereal? Or would the recipe need to be altered to keep it together in bar form?

    • You could form it into bars. After the cereal has cooked it cooks while it sits at room temp. You would have to work quickly to add the chocolate chips and them press it flat again. I would try to cut the bars while it is still warm. Then when it is completely cool separate the tray on the break lines.

      I left my hubby in charge of a batch once and he forgot to stir it up to break it up into clumps before it cooled and I had one big “bar” the size of my pan. We broke it up into large chunks for snacking on but it didn’t have the chips in it.

      • Awesome, will have to try it out soon. 🙂 The hubby part made me giggle. I plucked mine right out of his momma’s house (married right after high school) so he never had that “I must learn how to cook or I’ll starve to death” phase. So I rarely ask for assistance, otherwise I might end up with a pan sized bar myself, lol. 🙂

  3. I absolutely LOVE granola. I will be trying this recipe real soon!

    Thanks for sharing at Teach Me Tuesday Linky Party. Hope to see you there again tonight:)

Leave a Reply

