Store bought vs. Homemade | Baby Graham Crackers

Recently a local store ran a buy one get one on graham crackers and in the bins they had baby graham crackers.  I had never heard of them but decided to try them out and see if the kids liked them. Of course they loved them so I  looked for them in store the next time I went shopping. Imagine my shock that a tiny  8 oz box was almost $5! With my little ones cleaning out a box a week I could hardly afford to pay $5 a box for them. I knew I had a graham cracker recipe that I had wanted to try but my husband always said that it would be too much extra work for me to make my own graham crackers so I haven’t bothered to try. Well, now I had a reason to.

I pulled out my cookie book & looked up the graham cracker recipe. I mixed up the dough while the kids were napping then refrigerated it until the next day. I pulled it out again the next morning and let it come to room temp while I took care of the kids. During their morning nap I rolled the dough out, cut it and baked it. I could have done it all in one go but breaking it up this way allowed me to not stress and not take time away from the kids. When the first batch was cool my little ones were awake so they taste tested them. Their verdict “Yum, Yummy!”

These crackers were a little softer than store bought which could probably be remedied by cooking a extra minute or two but I prefer them soft right now as there is less of a choking hazard. They were also less sweet, again not a problem for us but you could add a bit more sugar or honey if you want them sweeter.

So here is the break down

Store Bought Ingredients:

Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Sugar, Graham Flour (Whole Grain WheatFlour), Canola and/or Palm and/or Palm Kernel Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup,Molasses, Honey, Salt, Baking Soda.

Homemade Ingredients: 

Whole Wheat Flour, Unbleached AP Flour, Butter, Confectioners’ Sugar, Honey, Milk, Cinnamon, Baking Powder, Salt

Store Bought Nutrition:

Calories per serving: 130
Calories from Fat: 25
Protein: 2 g
Carbs: 24 g
Sugar: 8 g
Fiber: 1 g
Cholesterol: 0 mg
Sodium: 180 mg
Potassium: 50 mg
Vit A: 0
Vit C: 0
Calcium: 0
Phosphorus: 0

Homemade Nutrition:

Calories per serving: 69
Calories from Fat: 3
Protein: 1 g
Complex Carbs: 6 g
Sugar: 4 g
Fiber: 1 g
Cholesterol: 8 mg
Sodium: 49 mg
Potassium: 29 mg
Vit A: 27 RE
Vit C: 1 mg
Calcium: 11 mg
Phosphorus: 28 mg

Store Bought Cost: $5 for 8 oz or $0.63 per oz

Homemade Cost: $2.47 for 17 oz or $0.14 per oz

Savings:  $8.16 for 17 oz!

So do you want the recipe? You have to try it.

Homemade graham crackers:

(Original Recipe from King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion)

1/2 cup unbleached AP flour

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

3/4 cup confectioners sugar 

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Combine.

Then add

1 stick butter cut into tiny pieces

Mix until evenly crumbly.

In separate dish mix

2 Tablespoons honey

2 Tablespoons cold milk

When honey has dissolved add liquid ingredients to dry and mix until it comes together, you may have to add more milk, I added about 1 additional tablespoon before it started to combine.

You can either store the dough in the fridge until ready to roll out to roll it out now.

When ready to bake divide dough into two equal parts. Place one part on parchment paper and roll to 1/16 of an inch thick. Use a pizza cutter to cut into desired size  and slide parchment onto baking sheet.

wpid-20140315_135850.jpg

Since these were for baby I did fairly tiny squares and I didn’t try to hard to get perfect lines.

Bake at 325 for 15 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before breaking apart on cut lines.

wpid-20140315_140019.jpg

To break I just folded the parchment into a funnel and dumped them into a bowl, they mostly broke up and the few that didn’t will break apart like real graham crackers when the kids are eating them.

 

Leave a Reply

