Cheesy Mini Muffins – Good for the Whole Family!

I was pursuing one of my favorite baking sites this morning for ideas for things to do with the kids. One of their featured recipes was for jalapeno-cheddar mini muffins. Sounds yummy to me but I was missing several of the ingredients. And I wasn’t sure how well the spice from jalapenos would go over with the kids, no problem, those were some of the ingredients I was missing. I decided the idea of mini muffins was a good one an the kids love cheese so I dug through my cabinets and came up with these super cheesy mini muffins.

Super Cheesy Mini Muffins

Super Cheesy Mini Muffins

CHEESY MINI MUFFINS

1/2 tablespoon dried deiced onion (for Fod map sub in the green parts of green onion about a ¼ cup.)

2 teaspoons ground paprika

1 Tablespoon Vermont Cheddar Cheese powder (The only place I know to get this is King Arthur Flour but you can use the powder from Kraft Mac’n cheese if you don’t have cheese powder)

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup sour cream

2 large eggs

3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 cup  Self-Rising Flour (Fod-map sub in GF AP flour & 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder & 1/4 teaspoon salt)

Add your diced onion, paprika & cheese powder to the milk and let sit for a few minutes to “bloom”. This softens up your died onions and brings your died spices to life increasing their flavor. After a few minutes mix in the sour cream

Add the eggs & cheese to your mixing bowl and blend with wet ingredients. Mix in the flour

Spray a mini muffin pan with cooking spray and fill cups nearly full (I love my tablespoon cookie scoop for this.)

Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes.

Enjoy!

wpid-20140305_105001.jpg

 

Watching the muffins rise. 20 minutes is such a long time for such a little boy!

wpid-20140305_110819.jpg

First muffin is finally cool enough. Really, for me, Mom?!

wpid-20140305_110825.jpg

 

First tentative bite. This is a whole new food category.

wpid-20140305_111319.jpg

 

Must have been good. This is all that was left just a few minutes later!

 

Leave a Reply

