What is Baby Eating? | Applesauce Oatmeal

Daniel is nearly seven months now & still doesn’t consistently sleep through the night.  Everyone told me that as soon as their child started solid foods they immediately started sleeping 10 hours at night. Well, that hasn’t been the case for us. I thought that perhaps it had something to do with the fact that many people introduce cereals first, whereas we had introduced fruits and vegetables first.  I decided to introduce the healthiest of grains, oatmeal, and see if it helped us get some sleep. I wasn’t about to pay the outrageous prices for baby cereal when I could make my own. I  took a box of regular Oatmeal and processed it in my food processor until it was a fine powder. Took a quarter cup of that powder

wpid-20140106_165305.jpg

and whisked it with three-quarters of a cup water over medium heat

wpid-20140106_165408.jpg

continued whisking until it began to thicken

wpid-20140106_165645.jpg

Once it had thickened I added a half cup of applesauce

wpid-20140104_202603.jpg

Put it into his pouch and tried it out.

wpid-20140104_201710.jpg

He loved it. It didn’t help with getting him to sleep through the night. I guess he just isn’t ready yet. But the second day I feed it to him he fell asleep right after breakfast.

wpid-20140101_091207.jpg

So cute, I guess the oatmeal worked just not the right time to fall asleep.

Applesauce Oatmeal

1/4 cup finely ground oats

3/4 cups water

1/2 cup applesauce

Whisk water & oatmeal together over medium heat until thickened, add applesauce. Feed to baby

20140104_201628-MIX

Leave a Reply

