Baby Food Reusable Pouch Reviews – Part Two

Part Two of the Reusable pouch review. Some of the additional things I tested where how easy it was to clean the pouches and what pouches would work with various accessories.

For cleaning the pouches I found the best method was to use my bottle brush.

wpid-20140101_201850.jpg

Mine has both the standard large end and the small nipple brush that gets into the little spouts and threads. Many of the pouches say they are dishwasher safe but I tried dishwashing them after a normal rinse without bottle brushing them out and they all came out with food particles left behind.

2013-12-02 15.58.49 2013-12-02 15.59.04 2013-12-02 16.00.03

I now bottle brush all of the pouches and only use the dishwasher to sanitize them.  When they come out of the dishwasher I hang them on my drying rack to make sure they are fully dry before I put them up in the cupboard.

wpid-20140105_102515.jpg

I already had the Infantino fill station so I tested them to see if I could use it for filling. It worked fine for most of them but  I found it equally easy to fill with a funnel, measure cup with spout or even a spoon. I also would put frozen cubes of food into them when I needed to fill one quickly for a trip and that worked just as well but I usually couldn’t get more than 3 one ounce cubes in any of the pouches so I tend to only do that in an emergency.

I also owned the Infantino spoon attachments and the Munchkin spoons. The spoons fit the pouches fine but I could not use them for anything beyond as very thin puree because the pressure needed to force the food through the smaller opening would break the zipper seals and food would burst out.

2013-12-02 17.25.20

I have tested these pouches for about a month and a half and they are all holding up fine. I have heard some people say the life of a pouch is only about two months but we use pouches at nearly every meal, I roll them up towards the spout opening, let the kids feed themselves with them and in general have given them a pretty hard work out. So far I have had no problems with any of them wearing down. Once I wash & dry them they seem good as new again. I will up date the reviews should I notice that I have a problem with longevity of any of them.

For additional information on this test project check out Part One & Part Three.

2 thoughts on “Baby Food Reusable Pouch Reviews – Part Two

  1. Pingback: Baby Food Reusable Pouch Reviews – Part One | Overseeing the Care of my Household

  2. Pingback: Baby Food Reusable Pouch Reviews – Part Three | Overseeing the Care of my Household

Leave a Reply

