What’s Baby Eating? | Applesauce

I have this in baby food recipes but I must say this is delicious applesauce for all ages! My husband told me I needed to make twice as much because I would eat more than the baby. Having grown up with a grandfather who had an apple orchard and a grandmother who taught me how to preserve food, especially applesauce, I am very picky about my applesauce. I have tried for years to replicate her applesauce because it appeared that the recipe for her applesauce died with her. I have been unsuccessful time and again and of course no store bought applesauce comes close to comparing. I finally think I got as close as possible with this recipe. Very simple, it allows the apples to shine with just enough cinnamon to add a warm flavor. Daniel approves and so does Mama!

Applesauce

                8 sweet apples (golden delicious are good, don’t use granny smiths they are too bitter for baby)

2-3 Tablespoons cinnamon to taste

It is best not to add sugar to baby food before 1 year so try to use very sweet apples. If you cannot get sweet apples or you are making applesauce for older children you can add 2-4 Tablespoons of brown sugar to taste if needed. 

Peel & core apples and reserve peels and cores for making broth.

I couldn't resist this cute picture of my little one "helping" me peel and core apples. Every recipe I post is done with a very active little one needing to be entertained while I do it. Apple stickers proved to be a great assist.

I couldn’t resist this cute picture of my little one “helping” me peel and core apples. Every recipe I post is done with a very active little one needing to be entertained while I do it. Apple stickers proved to be a great assist.

The absolute best way to get perfect texture for applesauce has been to use a food mill. If you do not have one you can gently process in your blender or food processor but you want to be careful because these tools can quickly change your apples from “sauce” to juice.

2013-11-14 12.58.22

Put your apples into a large pot and add an equal amount of water (I had 6-cups of applesauce so I added 6 cups of water.)

This is another opportunity to sweeten your applesauce without using refined sugar. If you have 100% pure apple juice you can replace part of the water with it, be aware this will effect your overall purity of ingredients as well as your overall cost.

Add the cinnamon & brown sugar if you are using it and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

To store you have several options:

  1. Place in glass mason jars and process in a hot water bath for 15 minutes.
  2. Store in food pouches and keep in the fridge for 1 week or the freezer for up to 3 months
  3. Freeze in one ounce ice cube trays and transfer to freezer bags when frozen solid.
Applesauce!

Applesauce!

I choose to use jars in several sizes. I ended up with 1 half gallon jar & 4 wide mouth quart jars. So a total of 1 gallon of applesauce. I only spend $3.00 for all the apples. The closest applesauce I was able to find to this taste has been at Whole Foods for $4.99 for a quart. I refuse to pay those prices again! Taking the time to do this recipe not only gave me a better flavor but  also saved me $36.92!

4 thoughts on “What’s Baby Eating? | Applesauce

  1. Pingback: Today’s Baby Project | Overseeing the Care of my Household

  2. Pingback: Baby Food Bonanza | Overseeing the Care of my Household

  3. Pingback: Baby Food Reusable Pouch Reviews – Part One | Overseeing the Care of my Household

  4. Pingback: What is Baby Eating? | Applesauce Oatmeal | Overseeing the Care of my Household

Leave a Reply

