What’s for Dessert? | Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles, even the name is fun. Can you believe I had never even heard of these wonderful things until about a year ago? Over the past year I have been exposed to wonderful Snickerdoodles and mediocre ones but never tried to make them myself. This weekend my hubby offered to buy me a Holiday flavor ice cream if I wanted it. I read the ingredient list and was intrigued but realized that the only reason it sounded good was because it had snickerdoodle pieces in it. I really wanted Snickerdoodles not the ice cream. It occurred to me that I had been craving them for two days, and those two days I had a headache. While I was pregnant I had learned that cinnamon was a naturel, pregnancy safe cure for headaches (I’m allergic to Tylenol so this was a great discovery.) I decided to try my hand at making Snickerdoodles myself.

Snickerdoodles are simply a sugar cookie coated in a cinnamon sugar coating. Since I really wanted to play up the cinnamon flavor I made some adjustments to the sugar cookie to include additional cinnamon.  The results were all the cinnamony goodness I could have wanted.

Snickerdoodles

1 cup soft butter

1 ½ cups sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 large eggs

¾ teaspoons salt

2 ¾ cups flour

Coating

½ cup sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Cream butter, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and baking powder until smooth.

Add eggs

Add salt & flour until combined.

2013-11-25 12.40.00

For the coating mix sugar & cinnamon in a Ziploc bag.

2013-11-25 12.59.04

Scoop teaspoons of dough into the bag. When you have about 4 balls of dough, shake the bag to coat fully with cinnamon. Place dough on parchment lined baking sheet and press lightly with a heavy glass.

Bake at 400 for 8 minutes.

2013-11-25 21.51.49

Dough disks can be frozen and reheated as needed.

 

Leave a Reply

