What’s for Dessert? | Homemade Toffee Bits

Several of my cookie recipes call for Toffee Bits but I haven’t been able to find them locally. After a couple years of picking a different new recipe to try I was tired of having to skip these amazing looking cookies because I couldn’t find an ingredient. I mentioned to my husband that I wasn’t able to find toffee bits for some recipes I wanted to try and he said “Well, isn’t toffee a lot like caramel? You make a great caramel. I bet you could make toffee bits and they would be even better than store bought.”

I love the confidence my husband has in my abilities! I am such a better person because he always believes in me even when I don’t believe in myself. He encourages me to be the best I can be and for that I am a better wife, mother and friend.
So, challenge accepted! I had to find out how to make toffee bits.  After a bit of research it seemed that toffee was indeed similar to caramel, the main difference seemed to be a larger quantity of butter and a smaller quantity of liquid. With this new knowledge and the basic knowledge behind my caramel recipe I came up with the following recipe, and it did indeed make amazing toffee bits!

Homemade Toffee Bits

2 sticks of butter
1 cup sugar
¼ cup heavy cream
¼ teaspoon sea salt
Before you get started line a cookie sheet with silipat or if you don’t have silipat place parchment paper on the cookie sheet & then spray it with cooking spray.

2013-11-25 10.01.38
Put all ingredients into a heavy bottomed pan, I broke out my Dutch oven for this one, and cook over medium heat while stirring constantly. When your sugar & butter are melted attach a thermometer to the side of your pot.

Keep stirring and watch the thermometer, Between 280-300 is when the toffee is done. I made this recipe twice and it depended on the pot. The lighter weight one took all the way to 300 but the heavier one was done by 280, any longer and it would have burnt. You want a nice golden color to your toffee.

2013-11-25 10.38.17
As soon as the toffee is done cooking pour out onto the prepared cookie sheet & spread out a bit. It will start to harden right away. To finish of the process quickly I slipped the cookie sheet into the freezer for 15 minutes.

2013-11-25 13.40.04
When it is completely hard peel off from the silipat/parchment and put into a gallon Ziploc. Hit it a few times with a heavy measuring cup until the pieces are as small as you want for cooking.

Mommy's Little Helper

Mommy’s Little Helper

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

