What’s for Dinner? | Mushroom Broth

Mushroom broth (FodMap, Gluten Free & Vegetarian & Vegan)

One of our favorite holiday dishes is green bean casserole but since my husband is on FodMap he cannot have the gluten or the mushrooms that are traditionally in the base.  I did a little research and found out that it is only the solid of the mushroom he cannot have, the flavor derived from them is fine. Some people might be content to pick out the mushrooms and leave them on the side but not my husband. I needed a new way to get the flavor into dishes that depended on the mushroom flavor without having the solids in the actually dish.  It occurred to me that I could probably make a mushroom broth the same way I have been making turkey and chicken broth for years. So when my local grocery store have mushrooms buy one get one with a coupon this week I picked up two packages and decided to try mushroom broth.

mushroom broth 1

I took my second largest pot and put mushrooms, green onions, oregano basil, salt & pepper in and covered everything with as much water as the pot would hold (about 4 quarts).

Once it came to a boil I let it simmer for 2 hours to absorb as much flavor as possible then dispensed it to my canning jars and pressure canned it.

 mushroom broth 3

Mushroom Broth

2 small packages of mushrooms

2 onions

1 sprig oregano

1 sprig basil

1 Tablespoon salt

1 t pepper

As much water and it takes to fill your pot

Bring to boil & reduce heat, simmer 2-4 hours until color is as dark as you like. If you have a pressure canner, pour into jars and process according to your canners directions 10lb pressure for 15 minutes. If you don’t have a pressure canner, pour into one ounce ice cube trays and freeze. When frozen store in a freezer Ziploc until ready to use.

Leave a Reply

