What’s for Dinner? Herb Bread – Two Ways

I gotta tell ya, I love my zojirushi bread machine. It makes my life so much easier, cheaper and healthier. I have made everything from bread to lasagna in mine; and since my husband’s physician put him on the FodMap diet, which requires gluten free, we have saved so much money by baking his gluten free bread instead of buying it. And he swears it tastes better than any store bought gluten free bread.  Recently I decided to make all of my bread at home as well to save from buying it. I didn’t want just plain bread though so I decided to try herb bread. Went my loaf turned out absolutely amazing I had to make a gluten free version for my husband. Since I’ve made both these breads twice in as many weeks I thought I’d share the recipes. Try them they will be one of the best breads you have ever tasted!

Herb Bread (Gluten Version)

1 1/2 cups water

2 tablespoons olive oil

4 cups bread flour

1 1/2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon vital wheat gluten (optional but it rises nicer with it)

2 teaspoons salt

4-6 teaspoons herbs

I used:

1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning

1 teaspoon Oregano

1 teaspoon Thyme

1 teaspoon Dill

1 teaspoon fresh Parsley

1 teaspoon fresh Chive flowers

2 1/4 teaspoons SAF yeast

  1. Place all ingredients in the bread machine pan
  2. Set crust to medium and program for Basic Cycle Press Start
  3. When cycle ends remove immediately & place on rack to cool before slicing
Delicious Herb Bread!

Delicious Herb Bread!

Wasn’t that simple & yummy? I was rushing out the door to take my son to the Fall Festival when this finished the baking cycle & I had to quickly make sandwiches for dinner out of it so I just took time to grab a quick photo on my phone. Not the best but you can see how nicely it rose, nearly out of my 2 lb loaf pan. (Yes I broke the rule about waiting to cool to slice but you really should wait. I only sliced enough for two sandwiches and then left it to cool before slicing the rest when I came home.)

I recommend packaging just as many slices as you will use at one time (for me it is about 4) into freezer bags and storing it in the freezer. Like any homemade bread without preservatives it will not last long unless frozen but when frozen lasts forever (or as long as it take you to devour it; my last one was under a week.)  Packaging it this way allows you to take out only as much as you need at one time, that way the whole loaf isn’t frozen together and it allows the portions to thaw out much faster.

That was the easy one! Gluten free backing is more complex but definitely worth it if you have a gluten intolerant family member. This is where the type of bread machine is important and well worth it to buy the zojirushi! It has paid for itself in savings of the price of GF store bought bread.

Prep for Gluten Free Baking

You will need to do a little prep work first. Start by making your Gluten-Free Bread Flour Mix. I usually make up a huge batch of this and keep it in a Tupperware in my freezer so I always have it on hand.

Bread Flour Mix

2 cups millet flour

1 cup sorghum flour

1 cup cornstarch

1 cup potato starch

1 cup tapioca flour

You should have 6 cups about enough for two loaves of bread.

Next you need to program your machine. I only know how to do this for the zojirushi so those are the instructions you get. If you have a different machine check the manual for homemade settings and try to match the times provided.

  1. Plug in zojirushi bread machine
  2. Press Select Course until the arrow points at HOME MADE – MEMORY 1
  3. Press Cycle until the arrow points at PREHEAT. Press Time until 10 minutes appears on the screen. Press Cycle to lock in the setting.
  4. Press Cycle until the arrow points at KNEAD. Press Time until 20 minutes appears on the screen. Press Cycle to lock in the setting.
  5. Press Cycle until the arrow points at RISE 1. Press Time until OFF appears on the screen. Press Cycle to lock the setting.
  6. Press Cycle until the arrow points at RISE 2. Press Time until OFF appears on the screen. Press Cycle to lock setting
  7. Press Cycle until the arrow points at Rise 3. Press Time until 45 minutes appears on the screen. Press Cycle to lock the setting
  8. Press Cycle until the arrow points at Bake. Press Time until 70 minutes appears on the screen. Press Cycle to lock the setting.
  9. Press Cycle until the arrow points at KEEP WARM. Press Time until OFF appears on the screen.  Press Cycle to lock the setting.

OK, now that the prep work is done lets get on to making the best Gluten Free Bread EVER!

Herb Bread Gluten Free & FodMap Friendly

1 1/2 cups water between 65°F and 75°F (I find that my tap water is exactly 75°F but test yours to see)

2 teaspoons olive oil

3 cups Bread Flour Mix (above)

3 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons xanthan gum

1 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 teaspoons SAF yeast

4-6 teaspoons herbs

I used:

1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning

1 teaspoon Oregano

1 teaspoon Thyme

1 teaspoon Dill

1 teaspoon fresh Parsley

1 teaspoon fresh Chive flowers

1. Set Zojirushi Bread Machine to  HOME MADE – MEMORY 1 (as programmed above). Set Crust Control to Dark

2. Add water & oil to bread pan

3. Mix remaining ingredients together until well combined and sprinkle over liquids.

4. Press Start (when machine beeps scrap down the sides to remove flour)

5. Remove promptly when Bake cycle finishes. Allow to cool before slicing.

Gluten Free Herb Bread

Gluten Free Herb Bread

As you can see the Gluten Free Version doesn’t rise quit as high but is still very airy for GF bread in general. My hubby raved about this bread, and he nearly swore of bread completely because the store bought GF bread were so hard, dense and did not taste like “real bread”.  He is my toughest critic and if I can make him happy enough with this bread that he eat the whole loaf in one week and asked for more, it will satisfy anybody!

Again I recommend storing in the freezer packaged into one use amounts. Quart Freezer Ziplocs work great for this and I just save and reuse them for the nest loaf.

If you really want to take either of these breads over the top spread them with my Herb Cheese Spread.

Leave a Reply

