Herb Cheese Spread

This post is a recipe but it is also a saving money post. Since my husband is on the FodMap diet there are only a few cheeses he is able to eat and even fewer that I can eat while I’m breastfeeding. Certain ones will cause Daniel to have excessive vomiting while other he is fine with.  One thing we both love is Boursin or Alouette cheese. However, since these sell for $5.99 for 6 oz in our area this is a rare treat only when I have a coupon I can combine with a sale.  But I really wanted something similar that didn’t cost so much. As a result I came up with the recipe below. I was hoping for similar but my husband and I both think this is 10 times better!

Total cost to make 24 oz at home $3.40; or $0.14 per ounce instead of  $0.998 per ounce. A savings of $20.56!

Herb Cheese Spread 

1 roasted garlic clove

8 ounces unsalted butter, softened

2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh basil

1/2 teaspoon oregano, fresh or dried

1 teaspoon chopped fresh chives

1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley

1/4 teaspoon thyme, fresh or dried

1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

1 teaspoon dill weed

Directions:

Add all ingredients to a blender or food processor and process until smooth and well combined.

Serve at room temperature.

Store in the refrigerator for up to two weeks (actually, this is the longest it ever lasted at my house so I don’t know if it will keep longer.)NY0305_Cheese-Spread_med

Leave a Reply

